Evaluation Pin Hole T.H

Here is my final Pin Hole Shot. I have used the same set for both tech and Pin hole as I thought it would be more time effective. I have also used the same lighting on both. I have used one tungsten (left hand side) and a theatre light (right hand side) I previously had a cool light on the guitar but when trying this lighting again it did not have the same effect as it did before. The cool light made a box shape reflexion onto my guitar which I could not get rid of without changing my lighting, so I decide to change the light and not the placing of it. I used a theatre light instead, this was much easier to use and control. This solved my problem. I am pleased with my final image as I think it is effective because communicates the message I wanted. I also feel I have built the camera successfully and am proud to say I made it myself. I did find it hard to get the exposure right but I feel I did an effective job and overall am pleased.

 

Placing of objects

 

The placing of the objects is important in Vanitas. I have placed the guitar at the back as it is not very impotent compared to the other objects. I have placed the globe at the left front, this is to show it is most impotent. I have also placed it to the left so it is positioned opposite the books and glass of oil and ice this is to show that the world is over powering the resources (using to much). This idea comes from my researched into it. I have placed chick skull’s on the glass to show death and overproduction  as we kill loads of animal  unnecessarily  for meat that is offend wasted . Finally I have placed a stopwatch in the front with the globe to show not just time running out for the world but also that we can have control of it, as you can stop a stopwatch or keep it running.

 

Printing Image

 

To print my pin hole I had to make it into a positive, I did this by placing the image on top of a blank piece of paper so the light can project the image onto the paper to made the positive out of the neg. I exposed this for 20sec.

 

 

Object Meaning

 

The skull – which is the universal symbol of death.

 

The books-  represent the range of human knowledge, while the musical instruments suggest the pleasures of the senses. Both are seen as luxuries and indulgences of this life. Which a lot of people today like to do.

 

The Stopwatch- Time running out

 

Globe- Represent the World

 

Camera Settings (Pin Hole)

 

Camera set 70cm back from set itself

 

Shutter 15Min

 

F8/11

 

 Tripod – Used 

Leave a comment